City Council


City Council

About the City Council

The Richmond City Council is the legislative body of the city government responsible for enacting ordinances and policies for the efficient and orderly operation of the city.

Member Structure

The City Council is comprised of seven members who are elected at large to staggered four-year terms. The City Council holds an organizational meeting after each election and selects from among its members a mayor and mayor pro-tempore who serve for two-year terms.


The mayor serves as the ceremonial head of the city government with the power to perform marriages and to perform the same powers as the sheriff during emergencies.

Citizen Involvement

The City Council encourages its citizens to become involved in city government, including letting the city know their thoughts on community issues important to them.