Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a division of the Planning & Economic Development Department. The Planning & Economic Development Director is the administrator of the Planning Commission.

Meetings & Hearings

  • 7 p.m.
  • Generally the Second Thursday of every month
  • City Hall
    36725 Division Road
    Richmond, MI 48062
Submission Deadline
Meeting Date
December 17, 2018
January 10, 2019
January 21, 2019February 14, 2019
February 18, 2019March 14, 2019
March 18, 2019April 11, 2019
April 15, 2019May 9, 2019
May 20, 2019June 13, 2019
June 17, 2019July 11, 2019
July 15, 2019August 8, 2019
August 19, 2019September 12, 2019
September 16, 2019October 10, 2019
October 21, 2019November 14, 2019
November 18, 2019December 12, 2019

Meetings are immediately following the Board of Zoning Appeals meetings. Notices of Planning Commission public hearings are displayed as classified legal advertisements in the North Macomb Voice newspaper prior to the public hearing date in accordance with applicable law.

When applying for Rezonings, Special Use Permits, and Site Plan Reviews the City of Richmond recommends scheduling a Pre-Application Meeting with the Planning & Economic Development Director.  Pre-Application meetings are a great way to see if there are any issues prior to applying for Planning Commission consideration.

Commission Responsibilities

Richmond's Planning Commission plays an important role in land use decisions for the city. The Planning Commission advises the City Council on all matters related to the orderly growth and development of the City of Richmond. The responsibilities of the Planning Commission include:

  • Considering and making recommendations on updates and amendments to the Master Plan and Zoning Ordinance
  • Advising the City Council on Master Plan amendments, changes, or additions to the Zoning Ordinance
  • Reviewing site plans, special land use requests, and planned unit developments for compliance with the Zoning Ordinance

Agendas & Minutes

Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes


The Planning Commission is made up of seven members of the community plus the city manager and the mayor, for a total of nine voting members. The seven citizen members are appointed to three-year staggered terms commencing on July 1, and the city manager and mayor serve by virtue of their respective offices. The citizen members are appointed by the mayor subject to confirmation by the City Council.


Read the commission bylaws.